GNcareers, from Gulf News

Find out the four stages of attaining mastery

Find out the four stages of attaining masteryImage Credit: Supplied

Each person goes through the four stages of learning while developing a skill. These stages are a constant reference that will help identify what level of competence a person is at before doing things in auto-pilot.

• Stage 1 (Unconscious incompetence or ''I do not know that I do not know'') – This is the stage wherein a person has zero knowledge of a specific subject, field or task just because he is not exposed to it. For example, if a person has never driven a car in his life, all information and the required driving skills will be unknown to him completely. Another is, if a person is not an engineer, terminologies like heat exchangers, boilers and pressure vessels might be completely strange to him.

• Stage 2 (Conscious incompetence or ''I know that I do not know'') – This is when a person is aware of the task at hand but still incompetent to perform the job. By attending training sessions, he will achieve knowledge-based competency on the subject. For example, one can improve his driving skill or ability by making a commitment to learn.

• Stage 3 (Conscious competence or ''I know that I know'') – This is the stage where a person puts learnings into practice, and can reliably perform the skill at will or without assistance. He can experiment using his acquired knowledge and learn from his mistakes in the process. One should continuously practice and commit to becoming an expert until he can automatically perform the skill without having to think at all.

• Stage 4 (Unconscious competence or ''I do not know that I know'') – This is the final stage where one can function in auto-pilot. The skill is programmed into the subconscious mind, and by virtue of repetitive application, it is what the person feels after doing the task for years.

In one's career life, attending a few training programs does not mean one instantly becomes an expert or skilled at certain tasks. Learnings must be constantly applied. Thus, focus on applying the knowledge you learned to become competent in your field.

Handy Hints:

• Evaluate where you are at with the skill you want to develop

• Development of any skill set requires coaching and practice

• Assess and identify the best way to practice to master a skill

Learn about the 'ring of love' and living with integrity

Source: Kamran Ahmed Siddiqui, Special to Jobs & Careers